The devastation

Puerto Rico 2012

I have had friends and family reaching out to me in the last few days.  To see if I am OKAY, to see if I am worried about a loved one in Puerto Rico, to see if there is anything they can do for me.

No, most of the family I am connected to is here.  In the states.  In my “hometown”.  I feel for the people there on a human level.  But no, most of my family is here.

Until the photos started streaming in and the videos started auto-playing in my feed. Until I saw photos of the town I was born in, the places my parents were raised, until I saw the truth in the devastation.  Until then, I could say “I am okay.”

The realization has hit me – places where I had memories of and places where my parent’s feet had touched the ground and places where I had giggled with joy as a child are no longer.  Places where I could go and feel closer to my parent’s are wrecked and ravaged by Hurricane Maria.

It is selfish as I have not lost a physical thing or a physical being as a result of the hurricane.  I have simply lost a memory that had real world connections.  But memories are all I have of my parents and of their time on this earth.  So I will wallow a minute in my selfishness but only a minute because we are needed now.

Please consider the many people who have lost concrete items like their homes, their livelihoods and potentially loved ones.  Make a donation through your desired charity or consider donating to these organizations:

http://unidosporpuertorico.com/

https://www.generosity.com/emergencies-fundraising/maria-irma-puerto-rico-real-time-recovery-fund

https://www.gofundme.com/puertoricohurricanerelief

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment